Self Against City:
Jonathan Temkin - Vocals
Jeff LaTour - Guitar
Jack Matranga - Guitar
Hunter MacDonald - Bass
Justin Barnes - Drums
review & interview content, as well as web site graphics & design, copywrite 2003-2004 Euphonia Online. use of materials granted only with reasonable purposes.

1) Becoming A Monster
2) Stroke Of Luck
3) Ready And Willing
4) Even The Strong Won't Survive
5) Disappearing Act
6) Tequila Moonlight
7) Talking To The Mirror
8) You Got It
9) Smooth Silver
10) Yours Isn't The First
11) Back To Our Innocence

January 9th, 2007
| Purchase Telling Secrets to Strangers Give it a Listen |
Telling Secrets to Strangers
[Previous Features]
| FEATURED BAND: Self Against CityLABEL: Rushmore Records |
For each month's Featured Release, we ask the principle songwriters for the band to provide commentary for each track on the new record. Here, fans are given some insight into the inspiration, creative developement, and recording process for all the songs on the record.
Song commentary for this album by Jack Matranga.

1. Becoming a Monster simply our mission statement. We wanted the album to kick off with a high energy rock song that you can't help but sing along to.

2. Stroke of Luck
This was written when jonathan and I combined two separate guitar parts we had been working on individually. I had the intro guitar line ready to go and jon had the chorus progression. They ended up working together wonderfully.

3. Ready and Willing
This one was written about some stupid bullshit touring drama and our experiences observing others in similar situations as ourselves.

4. Even the Strong Won't Survive the oldest song on the record. If youve seen us live at any time in the last 2 and a half years you've probably heard this song.

5. Disappearing Act
My favorite song on the album. It has the most
intense moments our band has ever written.

6. Tequila Moonlight a very up-front and honest plea for understanding. Its about trying your hardest to convey your sincerity in a relationship.

7. Talking to the Mirror a straight live rock n roll jam.  Its the most up tempo song on the album. It has hand claps......enough said.

8. Smooth Silver
This shows a different side of our band that we are eager to explore further in the future...its a waltz feel is 4/4 with tempo changes toward the end.

9. You Got It
Probably the most unique song on the album...being as it is the only song not solely in 4/4 time. Theres 3 different time sigs i this one..something else that were eager to explore in the future.

10. Yours Isn't the First probably going to be considered the 'ballad'
on this album...we love 90's alt rock.

11. Back to Our Innocence
This is our experiment w/ sampling and electronics. We wanted to just go nuts w/ production on this song...yet time is money....