I was a bit apprehensive about reviewing Yesterdays Rising�s Lightworker. I�m pretty open-minded when it comes to music, and a quick listen on Purevolume showed this to be on the slightly darker, heavier side of what I usually listen to. I was optimistic, however, because it seemed to be something I�d fully enjoy all the same. Sadly, I wasn�t very impressed. Now don�t get me wrong�I love Fearless Records and (usually) the stuff they put out. But I found it very hard to get into this album for several reasons.
       The songs lack structure and togetherness. The way they�re put together, you�d think that each member went off and wrote his own part by himself, and when they met up again, the parts were mixed just hoping they�d sound good. If there are definite verses and a chorus, I�ve missed them because I can hardly understand a thing their vocalist is singing. (And this is when he�s
not doing his awkwardly forced-sounding screaming.) The other members don�t help clear this up as they hurriedly jump from one note and beat to the next, leaving huge whirls of dust that obscure the footprints they�ve left behind. There are no riffs or recognizable melodies that could potentially give the songs a form to then build upon; they�re building on a foundation that hardly exists.
        While researching Yesterdays Rising, I read that �Loss� was written when a band member�s family member who had passed away. I listened to the song (again, looking up the lyrics after several minutes trying to pick out discernable words) and thought, �I really wouldn�t have been able to tell what it was about if someone hadn�t told me.� This is the case with many of the other songs on the album. Perhaps their lyrics would have a deeper meaning and significance to the listener if included was a detailed explanation of what inspired the song. Alas, there is no lyrical clarification to be found for the majority of the songs, thus rendering them fully appreciable by only a small fraction of listeners. To the rest, the songs seem identical: a clash of hurriedly smashed-together instrumental lines topped with distorted vocals and the daily recommended dosage of darkness. The only way I can tell the tracks apart is by the titles, which are repeated throughout their respective songs. I had hope for the cleverly named �My Body is Like a Metaphor,� but I was let down, as I would be several more times in the songs following.
       On the one track that doesn�t sound as aggressive as the rest, �My Conscious Curiosity,� the band goes for a softer, more contemplative approach. The lyrics are definitely more understandable and the instruments are easier to listen to individually� but I almost wish they weren�t. Yesterdays Rising has a mind-blowing amount of talent. If they could tighten their sound with catchier melodies, lyrics enjoyable by a larger audience, and some sort of structure or organization in their songs, they�d be much better off. I understand that perhaps this is exactly how they want to sound, but if they can�t find a way to reach out to more sets of ears, no one will be able to appreciate what they�re doing and how much hard work they�re putting into their music.
       I�m looking forward to the band�s next release, though. Hopefully by the time their next album comes out, they�ll have smoothed out the rough parts in their sound (while keeping their trademark raw, thrashing edge) and more people will come to love what Yesterdays Rising has to offer.
A.A. '05
review & interview content, as well as web site graphics & design, copywrite 2003-2004 Euphonia Online. use of materials granted only with reasonable purposes.
Fearless Records

1) To The Readers
2) My Body Is Like A Metaphor
3) I Am Fortunate To Know
4) Lightworker
5) Catastrophic
6) Experience to Wright
7) He Who Waits To Become Part Of The Mud
8) The Hardest Part
9) Becoming One With Nature
10) Loss
11) My Conscious Curiosity
12) Let Us
13) Combust, And Feel Better
Buy This Album
Band Website